Search This Blog

Saturday, October 1, 2016

MS ABDB crowned DST Super League champs

|     Fadhil Yunus     |
MS ABDB was crowned champions of the Brunei DST Super League 2016 for the second consecutive season during a closing and prize presentation ceremony at the Berakas Sports Complex last night.
The army personnel have already beaten Wijaya FC when they met their title rivals Indera SC and their 5-0 drubbing put them on a smooth course for a title defence.
MS ABDB team manager Major (A) Razanol Hardi Abd Razak was humbled by the experience of retaining the league title and modestly said that there were teams as good as them in the league.
“It was a humbling experience because the higher you go, the more you need to be grounded. I have to remind myself that although it is an honour and a privilege, we cannot forget ourselves that the other teams are just as good as us,” he said told the Weekend Bulletin after the closing and prize presentation ceremony.
Major (A) Razanol took charge of first team affairs in his first full season since continuing the work of former team manager Major (A) Pengiran Mohd Farisan Pengiran Haji Metassan halfway through last season.
The head coach added he had more freedom of choosing the players and even brought in two new additions to the squad with the senior players serving as mentors.
“This season, I had the honour of getting more responsibility in getting more hands-on with the management of the team. As most managers would know, it is quite challenging,” he further added.

MS ABDB players and officials pose with their prize. – KHAIRIL HASSAN
The second Super League title is Major (A) Razanol’s fourth major honour since taking over the reins as team manager and he highlighted that proper management and possessing discipline as key to ensuring success.
“It just proves that with proper management and the right team, attitude and discipline, one can achieve a lot. It is not just the contribution and dedication from the management but also from the team. They did very well and they were determined and professional,” the team manager concluded.
Meanwhile, Indera SC defeated Najip FC 3-0 to pip Wijaya FC into second place in the final day of the season through Hamizan Aziz Sulaiman and a brace from Asri Haji Aspar.
MS ABDB’s Abdul Azizi Ali Rahman scooped the top scorer award with 8 goals while team-mate Mohd Tarmizi Haji Mat Johari won the 2016 Brunei DST Super League Best Player award.
Indera SC clinched the first runners-up position with Wijaya FC finishing third while Tabuan Under-21 won the Fair Play award.
The guest of honour at the event was Abdul Latiff bin Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Haji Mohd Yussof, member of the Board of Directors of DST, who presented the prizes to the winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment