Search This Blog

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Indera lose battle but win war

The Indera SC team pose for a picture prior to their match yesterday. Indera SC are the champions of the 2014 DST Super League despite losing 2-1 to MS ABDB last night. Picture: BT/ Ak Fauzi Pg Salleh
Sunday, September 14, 2014

INDERA Sports Club (SC) were officially crowned champions of the 2014 DST Super League at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas last night.

The two-time champions lost 2-1 to Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) in the final day of the tournament, leaving their coach Hj Omar Hj Jamil with mixed emotions.

“I am very happy that we won the title again this year and I am very proud of the players. We have created history tonight by winning the tournament two years in a row,” said Hj Jamil in an interview with The Brunei Times.

“But we lost tonight and we failed to maintain our unbeaten record in the league. We were very close to achieving that. This is a lesson for the players to not be complacent in the future,” he said.

Indera finished the nine-team league with 43 points ahead of MS ABDB with 37 points. Najip FC is third with 27 points.

Indera won 14 games, lost one and drew one and they have scored 51 goals and only let in 14 throughout the campaign.

MS ABDB was the first to create a goal scoring chance when Budiman Jumat’s strike from 20 metres out went straight into the hands of goalkeeper Mohd Fakrul Zulhazmi Yussof.

Defender Suhaimi Hj Mohd Yussof would put MS ABDB in front when he drove a low shot from the edge of the penalty box into the back of the net in the 18th minute.

Mohd Azizi Ali Rahman came close to doubling MS ABDB’s lead when he was set free by Budiman but Reduan Hj Petara would come to the rescue with a timely sliding tackle.

Mohd Azizi would not be denied as the second half kicked off, sending his attempt past Mohd Fakrul in the opening minute.

Indera responded almost immediately when Reduan Hj Petara volleyed home a poor clearance by the MS ABDB defence, following a cross from the right by Asri Hj Aspar.

Indera continued to press for an equaliser but MS ABDB would hold on to their lead until the final whistle.
Present to award the championship trophy and the prizes to the winners was member of the DST Board of Directors, Latif Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Hj Mohd Yussof.

MS ABDB won the “fair play” award in the tournament and their midfielder Mohammad Mazazizi Mazlan received the “best player” award.

Mohd Zulkhairy Razali from Indera won the “top scorer” award with 16 goals.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment