Search This Blog

Monday, January 20, 2014

MS ABDB crowned champions

  • MS ABDB players celebrate scoring a goal in last night’s DST Sumbangsih Cup match.BT/Saiful Omar

Monday, January 20, 2014

A GOAL each from Mohd Mazazizi Mazlan and Mohd Khairuddin Abdul Kadir was enough to help the Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) edge Indera Sports Club (SC) 2-1 in the Sumbangsih Cup last night.

The victory meant a lot to the MS ABDB players as they were looking forward to the match after the pain of losing last year’s DST Super League title to Indera on the final day of the season in March.

Both teams finished the league tied on points, but Indera's superior goal difference was enough to put them ahead of MS ABDB – who won the DST FA Cup last year.

“This is my first time in charge of the team and what a very good start it has been for us,” said MS ABDB manager Pg Mufid Pg Hj Umar Ariffin in after the match at the Balapan Tarck and Field of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Spots Complex in Berakas.

“We were very solid from the start but Indera came back in the second-half. We defended very well and I think centre-back Mohd Aliuddin Besar was fantastic.

“It was a very well contested game as both teams created chances, but we managed to get early goals in the game and did very well to defend the lead,” he added.

The army opted for a five-man midfield, with Mohd Mazazizi - who represent the country at last month’s Southeast Asian (SEA) Games in Myanmar - being deployed wide on the left as striker Mohd Bahrin Hamidon played the solo role up top.

They opened the scoring with just five minutes on the clock as Mohd Mazazizi converted a penalty after one of MS ABDB’s player was brought down in a scramble inside the penalty box.

The army men came close to adding a second with two good chances in the space of a minute as first Mohd Mazazizi and then Affendy Hj Akup were denied by Indera SC goalkeeper Ak Omar Nur Aqamaddin Pg Salehuddin – who also represented the country at last month’s SEA Games.

Indera offered little threat in the MS ABDB half afterwards, with Hamizan Aziz Sulaiman’s curling shot the only effort to speak of as the army men dominated the game.

Indera found themselves 2-0 down in the 25th minute when Mohd Mazazizi found Mohd Khairuddin down the left before blasting the ball home.

Mohd Zulkhairy Razali was brought in to replace Hamizan Aziz at the start of the first-half, with midfielder Mohd Nurikhwan Othman being deployed as a second striker.

Indera improved in the second-half and MS ABDB’s goalkeeper was called upon to tip Indera captain Mohd Shahrin Momin’s shot over the bar, but their resurgence was short-lived.

Ak Mohd Safri Pg Hj Othman almost made it 3-0 for MS ABDB in the 58th minute when he was set through inside the penalty box, but the midfielder fired his shot straight into Ak Omar’s arms.

MS ABDB continued their dominance in the second half as they pressed for more goals, and if it was not because of brilliant goalkeeping by Indera's Ak Omar, they would have won by a bigger margin.
Indera, however, got their consolation goal in the 84th minute when Mohd Sharin converted a penalty after Abdul Azizi Ali Rahman brought down Mohd Aqmal Hakeem Abd Hamid inside the penalty area.

Present as the guest of honour to award the trophies and prizes to the winners was a member of DST’s Board of Directors, Abdul Latif Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Hj Md Yusuf.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment