Search This Blog

Thursday, July 3, 2014

FC Phosphor return to Brunei football scene

The FC Phosphor squad pose for a photo during the 2012 edition of the DST National Football League.Courtesy of FC Phosphor 
Thursday, July 3, 2014

SMALLER football clubs in the Sultanate will be able to pit themselves against the powerhouses of Brunei football with the return of the DST FA Cup.

The second edition of the competition will return in November, giving the smaller and less established clubs the opportunity to prove themselves on a bigger stage.

One such team is FC Phosphor.

The club, founded in 2000, had its last taste of national competition in the inaugural FA Cup competition two years ago.
“It is good to be back after the long break,” said FC Phosphor manager Tengku Syed Hardiman Tengku Syed Abd Rahman in an interview with The Brunei Times yesterday.

“We were out of the tournament (DST FA Cup) in the first round in 2012 and we are hoping to improve on that this year,” he said.

FC Phosphor lost 2-0 to Royal Brunei Police Forces Sports Council (MS PDB) at the Balapan Track and Field of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex in said first round.

“We have started training last month for this tournament and training continues this month with the players going to the gym in the evening to keep their physical and fitness in good condition,” continued Tengku Syed Hardiman.

“Players come and go… we have added a number of new players in the team. Some of them were from the other local clubs in the country and I believe in the strength of these players,” he said.

FC Phosphor competed in the DST National Football League in 2012 but finished eighth out of nine teams, relegating them to the District Football League.

44 clubs from all levels competed in the first edition of the DST FA Cup.

Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) emerged as the champions after taking down Indera Sports Club (SC) 1-0 in the final.

Organised by the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD), the DST FA Cup will feature DST Super League teams such as MS ABDB, MS PDB, Indera SC, Liang Lumut Recreational Club Football Team (LLRC FT), Wijaya FC, QAF FC, Kilanas FC, Najip FC and Jerudong FC.

Teams from the DST Premiere League such as Lun Bawang, IKLS, Brunei Shell Recreational Club FT, Setia Perdana, Perkasa, Tunas FC, Kota Rangers and Rimba Stars are also expected to join.

The tournament is open to all registered football clubs in all four districts in the country.

Entry forms can be obtained at the NFABD House, along Jalan Pusat Persidangan, opposite the International Convention Centre in Berakas.

Completed form and entry fee of $150 per team must be submitted before July 11 at 3pm.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment