Search This Blog

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Kilanas FC out to rectify poor 2014 season

Sunday, July 6, 2014

KILANAS FC now turn their attention to the 2nd DST FA Cup following their poor campaign in this season’s DST Super League.

Kilanas FC finished at the bottom of the nine-team league with only seven points after recording two wins and one draw from 16 matches.

Currently sitting at the top of the national elite league table are defending champions Indera Sports Club (SC) with 37 points and three games in hands.

Their closest rivals, Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) and Najip FC, have 31 and 27 points respectively with only two games left to play.

Liang Lumut Recreational Club Football Team (LLRC FT), MS PDB, Wijaya FC and Jerudong FC have also finished their matches in the league.

“We have played all our DST Super League matches, so now we can focus on the DST FA Cup,” said
Kilanas FC assistant manager Emzah Hj Chuchu during an interview with The Brunei Times yesterday.

“We finished bottom in the league and I hope that we can do better in the DST FA Cup… We managed to reach the third round in the tournament two years ago, I hope we can improve on that.”

Kilanas FC kicked off the 1st DST FA Cup in 2012 with a 3-0 win over Rimba Star Junior.

They defeated Besa FC 5-1 in the second round but lost to Royal Brunei Police Forces Sports Council (MS PDB) 2-0 in the third round.

“For now there is no training as we are taking a break for Ramadhan and training will resume after Hari Raya,” said Emzah.

“We are most likely to retain most of the players from the DST Super League but we might also add a number of new players for the tournament,” he added.

44 football clubs from all levels competed in the first edition of the tournament which was won by MS ABDB who defeated Indera SC 1-0 in the final.

Organised by the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD), the DST FA Cup will feature all the DST Super League teams.

Teams from the DST Premiere League such as Lun Bawang, IKLS, Brunei Shell Recreational Club FT, Setia Perdana, Perkasa, Tunas FC, Kota Rangers and Rimba Stars are also expected to join.

The tournament is also open to all registered football clubs in all four districts in the country.

Entry form can be obtained at the NFABD House, along Jalan Pusat Persidangan, opposite the International Convention Centre in Berakas.

Completed form and entry fee of $150 per team must be submitted before July 11 at 3pm.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment