Search This Blog

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Lun Bawang to lace up for DST FA Cup

Lun Bawang players celebrate winning the DST Premier League title in May.BT/ Ak Fauzi Pg Salleh
Wednesday, July 2, 2014

DST Premier League champions Lun Bawang yesterday confirmed their participation in this year’s edition of the DST FA Cup.

Organised by the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD), the second edition of the tournament is slated to take place in September.

Lun Bawang‘s coach Fadlin Galawat told The Brunei Times that the players’ selection for the tournament will be made after the month of Ramadhan.

“We will take a break for now, but we will start training for the tournament after the month of Ramadhan,” he said.

“We are also going to prepare for the DST Super League next season, so we need to have a proper training for both tournaments,” he added.

The Temburong District based club will be promoted to the DST Super League next season, having won the DST Premier League and will be joined by second-placed IKLS who finished the league with 16 points.

The champions ended their DST Premier League campaign with a 100 per cent win record, beating Tunas FC 3-2 in their final match at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas on May 17.

They kicked off their campaign with a 3-1 win over IKLS.

They edged Brunei Shell Recreational (BSRC) FT 3-2 in their second game before defeating Perkasa 2-1.

Lun Bawang continued their great form with a 3-1 win over Setia Perdana before cruising past Kota Rangers 3-0.

They followed that up with a 4-3 win over Rimba Star.

Striker Mohd Shafiq Abdullah Elan was Lun Bawang‘s most influential player in the tournament, winning the top goalscorer award with seven goals.

Midfielders Delson Jumat and Muhd Nursyazwan Halidi were equally impressive with the latter bagging the best player of the tournament award.

“We only managed to reach the second round of the tournament (DST FA Cup) two years ago, but this year we will try our best to improve,” said Delson.

MS ABDB were crowned the champions in the first edition of the tournament in 2012, beating Indera 1-0 in the final.

DST Super League teams such as Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB), Royal Brunei Police Forces Sports Council (MS PDB), Indera Sports Club (SC), Liang Lumut Recreational Club Football Team (LLRC FT), Wijaya FC, QAF FC, Kilanas FC, Najip FC and Jerudong FC will feature in the DST FA Cup this year.

Teams from the DST Premiere League such as IKLS, Brunei Shell Recreational Club FT, Setia Perdana, Perkasa, Tunas FC, Kota Rangers and Rimba Stars are also expected to join.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment